History of SAPFIA

All Quota Holders were invited to attend a meeting to establish a new association on 19 November 1997 at the Shore Plaza Hotel Foreshore, Cape Town. The thirty-two representatives of quota holders attended the meeting, together with Messrs S. J. Malherbe who chaired the meeting, R. D. de Villiers and P. Foley from SA Inshore Fishing Industry Association (Pty) Ltd. The decision was taken to form SAPFIA and a draft constitution was tabled.

At the AGM on 3 November 1998, the Constitution of SAPFIA was approved and it was agreed to make an application to the then Minister of Environmental Affairs and Tourism that SAPFIA be recognized as an Industrial Body in terms of the MLRA Act of 1998.

The Election of the first Executive Committee

It was reported “That an understanding was reached at the formation meeting of the fifteen members, the seven processors would nominate seven members and that the smaller members would elect the remaining eight members. The Constitution has no provisions for deviation from this.”

The following persons were elected onto the Executive Committee

Small right holders

J Cottle

A Esa

U Donaggi

B Goliat

M Magd

M Poggenpoel

V Santi

G Weimar

J G Terblanche


T Chambers

G du Plessis

D A Katz

J la Cock

A Koegelenberg

G Rhodes-Harrison

In terms of clause 8.4, S J Malherbe was appointed as the sixteenth member.


Mr A Esau from 3 November 1998 to 7 October 2008

Mr S J Malherbe from 2 December 2008 to 14 July 2009

Mr R D de Villiers from 4 August 2009 to 3 November 2009

Mr M D Copeland from 3 November 2009 to 10 July 2012

Mr R D de Villiers from 10 July 2012 to 22 August 2017

Mr M D Copeland from 22 August 2017 to CURRENT